Bayside-Peninsula BPT Consortium

The Bayside-Peninsula Consortium of Basic Physician Training is one of five consortia for basic physician training in Victoria, established by the Department of Human Services in 2005 to coordinate the training, recruitment and rotation of basic physician trainees across member health services.

The Bayside-Peninsula Consortium shares the responsibility for training across all constituent hospitals, supporting trainees by ensuring that quality of training across all sites is of the highest standard and developing optimal preparation through both formal instruction and on-the-job training for the Part 1 Fellowship examination of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP).

The Bayside-Peninsula Consortium consists of the following health services:

Alfred Health

  • The Alfred 
  • Caulfield Hospital
  • Sandringham Hospital

Peninsula Health

  • Frankston Hospital
  • Rosebud Hospital
  • Golf Links Road

Calvary Healthcare

  • Bethlehem Hospital

Goulburn Valley Health (Shepparton)

Mildura Base Hospital

The Basic Physician Training Program consists of twelve rotations over three years.  Rotations within the Bayside-Peninsula Consortium will include placements to a selection of the above hospitals.

Applications for Basic Physician Training should be directed to the Medical Workforce Unit.  Applications for the following year usually close in August of the current year.

Details regarding the application process and requirements are found on the website of the Postgraduate Medical Council of Victoria (PMCV).

Website: Bayside-Peninsula Consortium


A/Prof Laila Rotstein, Consortium Director of Physician Education 
Ph:  (03) 9903 0799, Fax (03) 9903 0600, email

A/Prof Anne Powell, Alfred Health Director of Physician Education 
Ph:  (03) 9903 0012, Fax (03) 9076 2380, email

Ms Karen Greenwood, Bayside-Peninsula Consortium Administrator. 
Ph:  (03) 9076 3126, Fax (03) 9076 2380, email