Alfred researchers awarded


Important medical research, to further our understanding of medical practices as diverse as transfusions, resuscitation and treatment of liver disease, will be carried out by Alfred specialists following success in the 2012 National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) grants.

Professor Peter Cameron was one of just 15 Australia-wide to receive a Centres of Research Excellence grant, worth $2.4 million, for his work on the Australian Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium.

Alfred chief investigators to win project grants included Professor Jamie Cooper, head ICU research, who was awarded a $2.7 million grant for his TRANFUSE study- investigating standard issue transfusion versus fresher red blood cell use in intensive care.

Alfred research director, Professor Stephen Jane, was awarded two grants - one worth more than $648,000 to identify critical factors for the establishment and maintenance of the epidermal barrier and another that will investigate a novel genetic element controlling adult haemoglobin production.

ICU specialist Dr Alistair Nichol will use his grant, worth almost $1million, to run a multi-centre trial of an open lung strategy including permissive hypercapnia, alveolar recruitment and low airway pressure in patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome.

Director neurology, Professor Elsdon Storey was awarded $850,000 to study neurocognitive outcomes, radiological and retinal effects of aspirin in sleep apnoea and Prof Sharon Lewin, director infectious diseases, will use her grant of more than $680,000 to research liver disease in those with HIV and HBV. Prof Robyn O'Hehir, director Allergy, Immunology and Respiratory Medicine won a grant of more than $640,000 to study impaired respiratory tolerance in obesity, looking at the links with asthma. A grant of $479,000 to Andrew Taylor, head cardiac MRI, will study the role of diffuse myocardial fibrosis in myocardial stiffness.

Finally, Professor Russell Gruen was awarded one of five Victorians to receive a Practitioner Fellowship, given to researchers throughout Australia for a five year period.

For a full list of grants, log onto